my journey to be my best self

legs, bums and tums

In health, Uncategorized on May 31, 2011 at 10:31 am

Well this is certainly not Eat, Pray, Love.  I started the morning with a brisk walk up Kensington High Street towards Club Kensington, the neighborhood gym.  I left early enough to be there in time for Legs, Bums and Tums.

This is how the class is described:

Targeting the lower body muscles, this class will help tone and reshape thighs, tighten buttocks and firm abdominal muscles.

Why did I read mat class in the description?  When the instructor walked in he looked like the Incredible Hulk, just not green but equally muscular on top.

I instantly thought, “What did I just get myself into?”  And I knew I was doomed when I heard Michael Jackson blaring from the speakers at a pitch that only dogs should be able to hear.

Apparently the best way to target legs, bums and tums is through step aerobics.  Damn.  The women in the class must be regulars because they are moving through the routine seamlessly and I am hopping up and down on the step trying to catch up.  Useless.  At some point I just started laughing. It is absolutely hilarious that I found myself in this aerobics class with the instructor walking around singing, “I kissed a girl and I liked it.”

I was relieved after 35 minutes when we changed the pace and finally got a mat and started toning.  After 25 minutes I was glad to lay on my back and listen to Kenny G.  60 minutes later I was so glad class was over but I am thinking about returning next week.

Leave a Reply

