my journey to be my best self

cleansing: day 1

In health, Uncategorized on May 10, 2011 at 10:03 am

We celebrated Mother’s Day with brunch on the rooftop at the W and by the end of the meal I was so full from my waffle, bacon and all-you-can-drink bellinis I fell asleep on the couch.  I remember more than an hour before feeling full.  Did I stop eating? Of course not.  It was a buffet.

I thought it was probably a good idea to drink a juice before going to bed last night so my body didn’t go into shock in the morning when I started drinking my green juice.  I made cucumber, celery and apple juice.  My mother said she wasn’t hungry before but was starving after her juice.  She also claimed to have a headache.  I told her it was psychological.  Since when did cucumber, celery or apple make her head hurt?

So here goes day 1.  Hope we make it through the day without passing out.

I started my day late. I wasn’t hungry but when my mom came home from spinning (I warned her not to go).  She started the morning with hot water and lemon and she was ready for her 1st juice: spinach, kale, cucumber, celery, watercress, parsley, pear, lemon and ginger.  She started complaining about the green juice.  To be honest, it wasn’t very appealing in the bottle.  At least with her ahead of me I would know what to expect throughout the day.

And according to her I would have to go to the bathroom all day.  She jumped up and ran to the bathroom as soon as she finished telling me this and I yelled down the hall, “I can’t believe you really have to go.” She replied, “I just hope I make it where I’m going before I have to go again!” Great. I am not looking forward to that.

I wish you could have seen her face when I told her I liked the green juice. Ok, fine it’s not good but it’s not disgusting!

Next juice: grapefruit and mint. Easy.  Ok, not so easy. I had a headache. Not a debilitating one but an ever present one.  I want to skip to the almond nut milk, date and vanilla juice.  But no, green juice is next on menu. Again.

The worst drink ever? Coconut water. And the Goya water has little chunks of coconut that clog the straw.  I really thought it was the end of the cleanse for me.  I couldn’t imagine finishing the can, let alone drinking the next day and the day after that.

Our kitchen has become a juice factory.  The amount of fruits and vegetables is unbelievable and the amount of time it takes to make just a little juice is disheartening.  But once you start on this journey there’s no turning back so I have to juice to be ready for tomorrow morning.

I packed the next 2 drinks with me in a little cooler: beets, carrots and fuji apples and the last drink, almond nut milk, dates and vanilla.  I finished these in the movies and had to run to the bathroom twice.

What have I gotten myself into? Oh well, day is over and I’m not hungry and barely miss chewing.

Motivation:

Mom: If I survive this I’m getting a pocket book.

Me: If you survive this you’ll have a clean, healthy body.

Mom: Good.  I can put my new pocketbook on it.

Leave a Reply

