my journey to be my best self

eating out: i need a game plan

In health, Uncategorized on March 21, 2011 at 5:23 pm

I already said I can’t eat out. Being invited to dinner at a friend’s apartment may be the only thing worse than being invited to a restaurant.  I haven’t seen my lovely friend Daniel in weeks and am desperate to catch up but at what cost? When I asked him what was on the menu he said:

  • Appetizer: cheese and olives
  • Dinner: pasta, meatballs, sausage and peppers
  • Dessert:  cookies, cupcakes and lemon pound cake

As soon as he got to dessert I screamed, “I can’t eat that!” and he told me I may have to take today off! Take today off? I just took the last 10 days off, hence the 7 pounds I gained while I was away.

I am afraid to go.  It’s not like when I went to the Wizards game because (besides being a bit embarrassed) Mike wasn’t offended and Daniel will be if I don’t eat his mother’s home cooking.  So I need a game plan. I know I won’t be able to avoid the cheese but I can avoid the wine (I think I had enough bacheloretting this weekend).  I can eat the pasta but not the dessert.

I wish I could bring a snack pack but that would just be rude!

Tomorrow, I will be at the gym.  And I will be counting points like an accountant. If I don’t – I will never get back here by the time I take off for Mexico.

Leave a Reply

