my journey to be my best self

family dinner: doesn’t have to be soul food to be good food

In health, Uncategorized on March 14, 2011 at 10:06 pm

I cannot eat out anymore. I just can’t.  The last time I went out to lunch I narrowed down the choices to southwestern salad and chicken stir fry.  When the waitress came to the table I asked her what she recommended and she quickly suggested that I have the stir fry.  She wished that was all she asked.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: How much chicken is in the stir fry?

Waitress: It’s a chicken breast.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: No, in ounces.

Waitress: I am not sure.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: Can you ask?

Waitress: Sure.

She came back and announced that the chicken breast was 8 ounces.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: And can I have brown rice rather than white?

Waitress: It comes with brown rice.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: Great. How much rice is it?

Waitress: 1/2 a cup.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: How much chicken is in the stir fry?

Waitress: It’s a chicken breast.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: No, in ounces.

Waitress: I am not sure.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: Can you ask?

Waitress: Sure.

She came back and announced that the chicken breast was 8 ounces.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: And can I have brown rice rather than white?

Waitress: It comes with brown rice.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: Great. How much rice?

Waitress: About 1/2 cup.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: Ok. And what’s tahini sauce?

Waitress: It’s healthier than soy sauce.

Fat Girl in Skinny Girl’s Body: How?

After that meal I decided that I just can’t eat out anymore. Which becomes a challenge when you are dating.  I am dating a man in Boston and when he asked if I wanted to go to dinner I recounted the story about my last experience dining out. After a long pause I decided to invite him for dinner. On the menu:

fillet mignon

brussel sprouts

acorn squash

brown rice

and for dessert:

skinny cow ice cream

When he called to say he was on the way I started thinking to myself: Oh my god, men like smothered pork chops (at least my father does). He’s going to leave here and tell his friends that he came over for dinner and had nuts and berries.  I started panicking. But it was too late. That’s what I had in the refrigerator.  That’s what I planned to prepare.  I served him dinner and I watched as he took his first bite.  I was astonished that he ate every single bite. And later called to say (besides when his grandmother cooks) it was the best home cooked meal he has had.

So tonight I made the same meal.  At lunch this afternoon my dad said he can eat fried chicken 3 days a week.  So let’s see what happens.

  1. dinner was yummy, dad had two helpings. btw I never heard about this “dating a guy in Boston”

  2. Men should ALWAYS finish their plate if you take time out to cook for them. But be careful girl, you might get some men that don’t want to leave once you start spoiling them with home cooked meals.

    A skinny fat girls challenge should be to find restaurants that are friendly for skinnying things up. We need to be spoiled with meals cooked for us sometimes, right?

Leave a Reply

